The European Political Community, as an aid to the enlargement process

Only several months after the idea to create the European Political Community, a meeting has been called with the leaders of countries that are supposed to join the community, RFE reports.

The idea was first mentioned by French President Emmanuel Macron in May, followed later by the President of the European Council, Charles Michel. The difference was that Michel thought of naming the organization the “European Geopolitical Community”, while Macron said it should be called the “European Political Community”.

The goal, however, is the same: to create a format where all the countries of the continent “that want to share common values ​​and interests” would cooperate, not only those that are members of the European Union. There is no deadline for when it will be able to be formed.

The European Council has confirmed that invitations have already been sent to the participants in the Prague summit, which will take place on October 6. They will include the leaders of the 27 non-EU European countries, the 27 EU countries, as well as the president of the European Commission and the president of the European Council. Therefore, all the states that exist in Europe, except the Russian Federation and Belarus, have been invited.

The agenda of the meeting has also been set, which does not include any discussion about the eventual structures of this “community”, but current topics such as peace and security, energy and climate change, the economic situation, as well as migration, and mobility.

All of these are seen as urgent topics and are in the common interest of all participants.

Diplomatic sources in the EU admit that on the eve of sending the invitations, there were many dilemmas since the idea is that the European political community should include “all the countries that share the same values ​​of democracy and fundamental freedoms”. But, according to some EU diplomats, this wording has raised the doubt that countries that have problems respecting the values ​​of democracy and freedom of the media, or even those that do not support EU sanctions, can also be invited. against Russia, because of the invasion of Ukraine. However, in the end, it was decided to invite all these countries – among them also the six countries of the Western Balkans, Turkey, Armenia, and Azerbaijan.

Autor: RFE